American Foundation for Equal Rights

Marriage News Blog

Prop. 8 Plaintiffs Named “Californians of the Year”

The two couples who challenged Proposition 8 in federal court with AFER were voted “Californians of the Year” by KPCC listeners. Other nominees included Governor Jerry Brown, University of California President Janet Napolitano, Space X and Tesla founder Elon Musk, Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg, and others.

KPCC notes:

Back in 2009 when Paul Katami and Jeff Zarrillo joined Sandy Stier and Kris Perry to challenge the constitutionality of Proposition 8, they became the face of the fight for marriage equality in California and across the nation.

It took four years of legal back and forth but the couples fighting against Prop 8 finally won in June when the Supreme Court declared the law unconstitutional. Two days later, Katami and Zarrillo rushed to city hall to be married by then-Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa. [Perry and Stier were married moments earlier at San Francisco City Hall by Attorney General Kamala Harris.]

The two couples became the face of a movement and – together with a formidable legal team – brought down Prop 8, putting them at the top of the list for Californians of the Year!

Paul and Jeff talked about the honor with Air Talk host Larry Mantle. Listen >